Taking a Stand

Not making any apologies here: this is stupid, offensive, or oppressive, take your pick. If you’re not masochistic enough to click through to I Blame The Patriarchy, a short summary is that Twisty quoted something not especially sane from Sheila Jeffreys, a radical feminist who makes Andrea Dworkin look mainstream; a commenter noted that Jeffreys hates transgendered people; and, a few dozen comments later, all her broke loose.

I don’t normally admonish radical leftists who do stupid things, especially when they’re entirely outside the mainstream. Prejudice against transgendered people is mainstream, and the people who harass trans coworkers or won’t let them use the right bathroom or exclude them from equal rights laws or refuse them IDs reflecting their genders are usually not radical feminists.

That said, Vanessa Gatsch is right on.

 And yes, I realize that these were comments left on a post, not content written by the owner of this particular blog herself. However, that’s the same excuse what’s-his-name from Little Green Footballs uses. It’s a bullshit excuse.

I’ve decided I can’t live in a blogtopia (y!sctp!) where the feminist version of Little Green Footballs exists with little to no objection.

So, after a few days I will be removing from my blogroll anyone who links to I Blame the Patriarchy in their blogroll.

I don’t think this will do anything other than make me feel better about my daily reading material.

Sometimes, big bloggers let their echo chamber deal with trolls. That’s entirely understandable. What’s not understandable is that a blogger who has expressed admiration for a moonbat with anti-trans sentiments is letting her echo chamber rant about trans bogeymen. I don’t expect bloggers to take a position on every issue, but when the issue comes up in their comment threads or is important to their idols, silence is tantamount to agreement.

Unlike Vanessa, I’m not going to delink people, not unless they engage in the same anti-trans oppression as Twisty. I just hope that people who do link to her know that they have an anti-trans moonbat on their blogroll and act accordingly.

10 Responses to Taking a Stand

  1. plucky punk says:

    Thank you for posting about this. Really, I just decided that I couldn’t deal with a blogosphere that had decided someone who makes hate speech welcome was considered acceptable. So, I’m delinking just to make my experience of the blogosphere nice again. I don’t really expect anyone else to do the same.

  2. Stentor says:

    Unlike Vanessa, I’m not going to delink people

    Good, because until I got to that paragraph, I was all set to call you out for indulging in the “personal purity” radical pathology you posted about not long ago. :^)

  3. Alon Levy says:

    Well, I’d delink Twisty and other radical feminists who were of the same mindset, if I had any on my blogroll to begin with. But Feministing, Pandagon, and so on are pro-trans and don’t have frontpagers who say “Sheila Jeffreys and I are on the same page,” so I wouldn’t delink them over a blogroll link to a pernicious blogger.

  4. Title…

    This is my Excerpt…

  5. Sonam Jikas says:

    Hey, some truly interesting details you have posted. Quality technology sites are not easy to find . I required to use couple of the information from your website with a link. Reply to this post if you don’t have any problem . God bless !

  6. I will immediately clutch your rss as I can not find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  7. Interior design courses online…

    [...]Taking a Stand « Abstract Nonsense[...]…

  8. Nick says:

    Hello there, I discovered your web site by means of Google whilst looking for a comparable matter,
    your site got here up, it looks great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply turned into alert to your weblog thru Google, and located that it is truly informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate if you happen to proceed this in future. Numerous other people might be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  9. Berikut petikan wawancara singkat tentang Nulis
    – Buku. Buut in case you really want to get a
    excellence batik, kaos batik and tas batik indeed you
    must travel to Indonesia concerning you can easily get high-quality batgik iin a cheap price.

    Gudeg Jogjakarta is traditional food of Jogja, a city that the lste of my mother side
    was given birth to and grew up.

  10. Understqnding can also be what aan Aquarius man lijkes in a
    woman. We cannot ffix childhood wounds by attaching ourselves to
    a substitute ‘parent’ as adults. Who are in love for them love is driving force for life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

