Note on Issue Emphasis

I reserve the right to choose which issues I care about. If my relative ranking of political issues differs from yours, it’s not generally because I’m an inhuman monster who can’t see the self-evident fact that you’re always right.

Likewise, I reserve the right to choose which issues I blog about. These tend to be the issues I have a comparative advantage in when it comes to both care and knowledge. As such, the issues I care about the most in politics – those related to fascism as defined by extreme cultural conservatism, warmongering, and a surveillance state – may not be those I devote the most time to.

For example, take Iraq. Among all hot topic in American politics, it’s the fourth I care about most. But in blogging time it’s far behind, because there are a million other blogs devoted to the issue, which offer news and analysis superior to anything I might come up with.

If you don’t like my issue emphasis, tough. You can try convincing me to care about your pet issue more, but you can’t make me more informed about it, or give me comparative advantage over the bloggers in my social network. If you don’t think there’s any blog that caters to your interests, start your own. You don’t need to be a good writer to succeed; if success had anything to do with writing skills, Daily Kos and Majikthise’s traffics would be switched.

5 Responses to Note on Issue Emphasis

  1. Ran Halprin says:

    (copied from another reply, relevant here):

    It’s a free internet, you may very well post 7 times a day about how much Israel is evil – but don’t be surprised when you are labeled an antisemite thereafter, for reasons I have already explained.

  2. SLC says:

    Re Halprin

    I don’t think it is entirely fair to conflate Israel bashing with antisemitism. This is particularly true when it is the actions of the Government of Israel that is being bashed. Both Mr. Levy and myself have bashed the Israeli Government, albeit for different reasons. He thinks it is evil, I think it is incompetent. I would suggest that Mr. Halprin read some articles by real self-hating Jews like Norman Finkelstein, Albert Lilienthal, Elmer Berger, and Noam Chomsky to obtain some perspective on the matter.

  3. Ran Halprin says:

    I also disagree with things different countries does at times. If someone decides to bash Israel for certain actions at a point, it of course does not imply antisemitism. But when someone repeatedly magnifies any small mistake that Israel does, while constantly ignoring much worse things others perform at the same time (e.g. genocide, mass-murder, ethnic cleansing, aggressive occupation, etc.), it is a good basis to assume that person has some very strong bias against Israel. Since Israel is the only country of the Jews, that thing must be antisemitism.

    I personally don’t think Alon is a self hating Jew or antisemite (just that he’s terribly misinformed and therefore biased, like many others who have been exposed to Palestinian propaganda). But since he often acts as one, he shouldn’t be surprised if some people label him as such.

  4. SLC says:

    While on the subject of Israel bashing, the attached link about Mr. Levys’ favorite ex-president should provide some amusement on a slow Monday.

    http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-3369679,00.html

  5. Ralph says:

    Majikthise is one person. Daily Kos is a multitude. There is some occasional good writing on Daily Kos.

    Presumably the probability of randomly sampling Daily Kos diaries and finding good writing is similar to that of randomly sampling weblogs and finding Majikthise or some similarly well-written site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

