3 Quarks Daily

I went to the second annual 3QD ball last night, and ended up spending the better part of 12 hours on it in total. First, me being in Morningside Heights and the ball being in Queens, I decided to leave at 6 pm even though the event was only slated to start at 9. On the way I took a detour to K-Mart to buy a white T-shirt, since a) we were supposed to have at least one white piece of clothing, and b) I have a shortage of shirts.

Now, when I say “slated to start at 9,” the emphasis is on “slated.” I ended up getting to the place at 8:25. When I went in, the only people already inside were the caterers and the bartender, who assured me that most people would come early, too.

To make a long story short, the median time of arrival was probably around 10-10:30. The band started playing around 10:45; meanwhile I made conversation with plenty of interesting people, most of whom unfortunately don’t blog so that I can plug them.

Then I was one of the last 5 people to leave (we left around 5:30), which meant I got to say goodbye to pretty much everyone. In these 12 hours, I learned several important lessons, overall.

1. Apparently, not being able to tell anyone’s age to more than within a decade is considered a good quality.

2. A lot of the people I talked to seem to know more about the Grigory Perelman affair than I do.

3. Several of the participants were so geeky they made me temporarily stop feeling guilty about being into Starcraft and Might & Magic.

4. The world is based on cause and effect. Cause: you say Americans are obsessed with crime on the way home. Effect: along the 100-foot walk from where the cab drops you off to your apartment, someone will rob your cellphone.

5. Two days ago, the public safety guy at the international orientation said the 26th precinct was the 5th safest in Manhattan. I don’t want to know how the 5th least safe is.

9 Responses to 3 Quarks Daily

  1. Abbas Raza says:

    Hi Alon,

    I am really shocked and sorry to learn that you were mugged after we dropped you off! Hope you are all right. You have to be careful in that neighborhood, and don’t walk around alone after dark. I wish I had stayed until you were safely in your building.

    Thanks for coming to the party. It was very nice to meet you. Keep in touch. Margit and Jennifer say hello.

  2. Abbas Raza says:

    I meant to say, don’t walk around alone after 2 am or so…

  3. Alon Levy says:

    Yeah, I’m alright, thanks for asking. I’ll just try not to walk around with my cell in my hands, or something. Evidently, the guy didn’t try taking any money I didn’t have in my pocket.

    Margit, Jennifer, if you guys are reading this, then hello to you too, and I had a great time last night.

  4. SLC says:

    Welcome to the USA, the worlds’ crime capital. However, New York is no different then Washington D.C., Chicago, Los Angeles, etc. as a dangerous place to live. That’s the price of freedom; police states like Singapore are much safer. In fairness, Paris is safer then New York because it has three times the number of law inforcement personnel policing 1/3 of the population.

  5. Alon Levy says:

    Well, New York has a relatively crime rate for an American city… and while I’m not sure about Paris, I know NY is safer than London in every crime category but murder.

    Singapore’s incomparable, because of the vast cultural difference. Japan’s penal system is more Western than Singaporean, and yet Japan has even less crime than Singapore.

  6. SLC says:

    1. Japans’ low crime rate is mostly due to the homogeneous population. There are virtually no minorities (except for a small Korean contingent). Unfortunately countries with polygot populations tend to have higher crime rates, unless they are police states. An acquaintance of mine spent 2 years in Paris and had no hesitation in being out at any hour of the day or night. In his opinion, the heavy law enforcement presence was responsible.

    2. As a whole, New York is probably safer then Washington, D.C., the crime capital of the world,, although there are parts of New York where I would advise Mr. Levy not to venture, even in daylight. I have pedaled an expensive bicycle (Teledyne Titan) in daylight through some of the toughest parts of Washington, D.C. without being bothered. I sure wouldn’t do that in New York City.

  7. Alon Levy says:

    Well, somebody forgot to tell the thing about polyglot communities to Europe, where many countries are breaking 1 murder in 100,000 people per year for the first time despite a moderate degree of pluralism. Even in the US, notice that most violent crimes are intraracial.

    New York is the safest large city in the US, period. Not that it means a lot, of course… And thanks for the advice, but I got it after my mom, my dad, my superintendent, the public safety guy at Columbia, and one of the many student’s handbooks said not to go into parks at night.

  8. SLC says:

    1. The murder rate in the US is due to the lenient gun laws and the proliferation of guns (some 225 million at last count). No other 1st world country allows such easy access to guns. Now, of course, Mr. Levy will come back with the comment that the gun laws in New York City are stringent, as they are in Washington, DC. Unfortunately, most of the guns are purchased outside of those cities and illegally brought in.

    2. The comment that most crimes in the US are intraracial has nothing to do with anything. The fact that the victims are generally of the same ethnicity as the perpertrators is due to the fact that both tend to live in the same neighborhoods.

    3. Earlier on, Mr. Levy states that the crime rate, except for murder, is higher in London then in New York City. He forgot to mention that London has become very much a polygot city (I have already explained why the murder rate is lower).

    4. The parks in New York City are not the only places to avoid at night. As I stated previously, there are neighborhoods that one should avoid even in daylight.

  9. Alon Levy says:

    1. I know.

    2. If so, then how does polyglotism contribute to anything?

    3. I know, again. But the fact of the matter is that you can find multicultural cities with much less crime overall than New York, such as Toronto.

    4. For example?

Leave a Reply

