Why can’t things work?

A little less than an hour ago, Windows BSODed again. Terrific. I’m too chicken for Ubuntu, though… maybe if it becomes more frequent, I’ll get over it and use it. Plus they use Linux at Columbia, so I’ll get acquainted with it more.

The reason I only post this now is that for 45 minutes, the system refused to log me in, even though I had the correct password; and when I tried getting it to send the password to my email just to be sure, it didn’t do anything. About a minute ago I managed to log in again for some strange reason.

So there.

11 Responses to Why can’t things work?

  1. SLC says:

    Get a MAC!

  2. SLC says:

    One of the problems with Windows run computers, especially notebooks, is hardware incompatibility relative to driver software. Companies like Dell, Gateway, HP, etc., attempt to lowball each other and consequently cut corners on hardware. Apple, on the other hand, makes all their computers and has a much better handle on the compatibility of their hardware with the operating system then the Windows manufacturers have.

  3. Kian says:

    get a mac and i’ll personally come to your apartment and smash the shit out of it. get ubuntu.

    macs have less software, they’re ugly, they still crash (!!) and the thing I hate most is that they’re completely proprietary… so when something in your computer fucks up (say your fan breaks or something…), you’re totally tied to mac to go and get it fixed with them. (Although, with your new laptops, its basically like that…for any of them. but you can take a presario laptop to any fixer and they can use a sony part – but mac parts are mac parts…either way laptops are a bitch to fix if they break…. or if you spill rum and coke inside of them).

    When tests were run comparing the speed of macs vs computers – the slowest computer they had took 2.4 seconds on average to load a list of programs, where as the new imac took 6.4. Mac users even admit that their G4 processor isn’t as fast or as good as the newest intel processors.

  4. SLC says:

    I am afraid that Kim is somewhat behind the times. Macs now use Intel processors and can also run Windows via bootcamp. Experiments done by PC World and PC Magazine running Windows XP via bootcamp showed that they were as fast as any of the Windows machines. I am informed that the Macs due in 2007 running Leopard will be able to run Windows and Leopard at the same time. Never having had to have maintainence done on any Macs I have had, I can’t comment on the hardware repair issue.

  5. Kian says:

    I’ll assume kim is me.

    I used the G4 example because thats what my roomie has. he said he wouldn’t upgrade because when ever he gets the ‘best’ mac thing thats out there, its always a huge dissapointment to the newest pc things that are out there.
    the study that i read on the imacs being slower was from a magazine no older than 3 months ago.
    as for the intel processors in the macs….the new intel core duo processor that the imacs have is apparently really “great” … but I’ve heard flips sides to this, mostly that despite best efforts its a battery burner…

    i just thinks macs are a bitch to use. (and no, its not because I’m not used to them. it what my entire highschool used….im as good on a mac as on a regular pc.) (and I try not to support microsoft….)

  6. Download Ubuntu and wipe that XP crap off your drive and out of your life. It is like breaking free of religion, Alon. You’ll never go back.

    I have five Macs and one Linux here and I think both are much better than Windows. If you are going to be doing audio or video editing, I’d say go with the Mac. For regular computing, Ubuntu could not be easier to install and run. My main research computer runs it, securely and problem-free.

    You could even get a Mac Mini and run both OSX and Ubuntu on the same box.

  7. Alon Levy says:

    The only audio editing I do is recording myself in MS Sound Recorder, which I don’t need a Mac for…

    I’ll have plenty of opportunity to observe Linux at close quarters at Columbia. I’m not in any rush to replace my operating system; even if the next crash zaps my hard disk, the only thing on it that isn’t on my memory stick is a few minor edits to my novel.

    If everything goes smoothly, I’ll be Microsoft-free within the month.

  8. Kian says:

    At the beginning of the summer, I remember you commenting somewhere “I’ll be microsoft-free by the end of the summer” It was on UTI somewhere. So let us know if it actually happens😉

  9. I’ve recently started a site, the information you offer on this web site has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  10. Thanks for sharing your ideas in this article. The other issue is that if a problem takes place with a pc motherboard, folks should not have some risk regarding repairing this themselves for if it is not done correctly it can lead to irreparable damage to the complete laptop. It’s usually safe to approach the dealer of any laptop for that repair of that motherboard. They’ve technicians who may have an knowledge in dealing with pc motherboard issues and can make right diagnosis and undertake repairs.

  11. This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

