That’s How You Do It

A brief recap: Lindsay ripped into a couple of boneheads who think putting kids’ BMIs on school report cards is a good solution to obesity. Tyler started joking about torturing kids. Twig said that could lead to an uptick in the teen suicide rate. Still in jest, Tyler said, “Stop, you’re giving me a boner.”

Zuzu interjected angrily,

Tyler, I’d like you to know that I’m in tears right now, reading your comments. I actually did attempt suicide as a teenager because of the years of torment I endured as the fat kid.

And I’ve been out of high school for 20 years.

Fuck you.

Now, Tyler proved himself to be a bad blogger. A good blogger would up the ante on the insult. The ultimate aim on the blogosphere is to prove your dick size is bigger, and when someone says you hurt her, the best way to show you have a big dick is to keep taunting her.

Instead, he apologized profoundly. That’s how you do it: you don’t dwell on inappropriate fluff like the “Fuck you” bit; the substance of Zuzu’s comment is sound, and that’s exactly what Tyler responded to.

2 Responses to That’s How You Do It

  1. I don’t know if zuzu has seen the apology herself, or accepted it, but I would like her to know that I’ll keep her interjection in mind when I comment from now on.

  2. Bruce says:

    I’ll take Tyler’s stand-up approach to the matter as an invitation to me to modify and improve how I do what I do.

Leave a Reply

