Amanda is Out

Amanda quit Edwards’ campaign, and everyone’s suspecting that she didn’t quit entirely on her own accord. Writign about Donohue, she says,

In fact, he’s made no bones about the fact that his intent is to “silence” me, as if he—a perfect stranger—should have a right to curtail my freedom of speech. Why? Because I’m a woman? Because I’m pro-choice? Because I’m not religious? All of the above, it seems.

Regardless, it was creating a situation where I felt that every time I coughed, I was risking the Edwards campaign. No matter what you think about the campaign, I signed on to be a supporter and a tireless employee for them, and if I can’t do the job I was hired to do because Bill Donohue doesn’t have anything better to do with his time than harass me, then I won’t do it. I resigned my position today and they accepted.

What follows is a fairly concise attack on Donohue that is a snark-filled version of what Edwards should have said instead of meandering about offensiveness. In three hours, it’s generated a longer comment thread than Amanda’s original post on coming to work for Edwards did in a day. I wrote,

I’d like to say this is what I expected of Edwards. This is indeed what I originally expected, but I seriously thought that you were going to stick around after Edwards’ statement that you were offensive but nonetheless should stay on his staff. I thought that was his way of compromising in a way that was bound to piss off everyone…

I don’t know if Amanda’s resignation was her own initiative or not. I care about it insofar as I’m a curious individual, but even if it was, I’m not going to support Edwards. His position on Iran is unacceptable, and his response to Donohue was a weak rebuke.

11 Responses to Amanda is Out

  1. Bruce says:

    You may or may not be a baseball fan, Alon, but Amanda chose to make herself the sacrifice bunt here for both Edwards and, I suspect, liberal blogging culture writ large. No doubt the massive pressure from the sacroturf factories affected her personally as well, unless she is a robot.

    The liberals on her site who are demeaning her, calling her a fool, deserve a slap in the (metaphorical) face. The woman deserves a few days of nobody jumping on her business, let her drink a cup of tea like a normal person without getting insulted.

  2. muppt says:

    Amanda drank too many glasses of skunk milk.

  3. Alon Levy says:

    I barely know any baseball terminology. I know about first base, second base, third base, home runs, and batting averages, but about little else.

    How are liberals demeaning her?

  4. Bruce says:

    Sacrifice bunt – your team is in crisis, i.e. facing an opportunity to score or to get thrown out. Usually in reference to loaded bases, where big scores AND rapid successions of outs are possible in one play. So to move the team forward, the batter bunts the ball – does not swing but more passively “sticks” the bat in the way of the ball, knocking to the ground as a dud inconveniently for the fielders. Usually, when done well, the only play is throwing the batter out at first. Moral: batter out, takes the out against own batting average, but team scores.

    Calling her a fool, etc. I expect the conservatives to spam her without mercy, but some of the liberals are worse. She is getting hit with a DOS attack, I think, or something just a few minutes ago.

    I have played hardball with the religious right of the Catholic Church before. 15 years ago, an Opus Dei priest at Princeton was becoming a problem – putting out lists of classes not to take because they would challenge faith, creepy interactions with students, calling one high school friend of mine who followed me there at weird hours during the week to pester him into going to early morning Mass at 5:30 AM. So we liberal Catholics (before my ultimate lapse or liberation, depending on perspective) organized to have the University investigate, passed around a petition to professors, etc. Our efforts nearly got both us and the school newspaper sued, according to my contacts. I walked around very nervous for a while then, foolishly unaware that as a broke student with no assets, I was completely judgment proof, and the Princetonian had libel insurance anyway. But I am sensitive to the hardball those right-wingers play. Ahh, youth, before gray hair and diapers and taxes….

  5. SLC says:

    1. Since Mr. Levy is unacquainted with baseball terminology, does he know who Sandy Koufax was (other then a nice Jewish boy from Brooklyn)?

    2. Mr. Bruces’ description of a sacrifice bunt is a a little confusing. This baseball strategy is usually exercised under the following situation. The leadoff batter successfully reaches 1st base either by hitting a single or drawing a base on balls. The next hitter lays down a bunt in order to move the base runner into scoring position at 2nd base where he can score on a base hit which reaches the outfield. The object is to avoid the second batter hitting into a double play.

  6. SLC says:

    Re Marcotte

    The attached link to an article in todays Washington Post specifically mentions Ms. Marcottes’ comment on the Duke so-called rape case which is, in my opinion, far more inflamatory then any of her opinions on the Catholic Church.

    ‘Last month, Marcotte wrote of the Duke University rape case: “Can’t a few white boys sexually assault a black woman anymore without people getting all wound up about it? So unfair.”‘

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/02/12/AR2007021201632.html

  7. Alon Levy says:

    I know Koufax was a lefty – I think the Koufax Awards FAQ mentions that.

  8. Bruce says:

    SLC – you are right, that is the more common scenario. In bases loaded situations with no outs, it’s more dramatic (and more difficult to do well.)

  9. SLC says:

    Re Levy on Koufax

    To say that Koufax was a left handed pitcher is like saying that Charles Darwin was a biologist or Albert Einstein was a physicist, or Karl Fredrich Gauss was a mathematician. Koufax was quite possibly the greatest left handed pitcher in the entire history of American baseball, going back over 100 years (baseball guru Bill James disputes this claim, backing a left handed pitcher from the 1930s named Robert “Lefty” Grove). In addition to that, Koufax was probably the only pitcher in the history of American baseball who actually attracted fans to the games in which he pitched (it is estimated that an additional 5000 to 10000 fans showed up on days when he was announced as the starting pitcher, even in foreign ball parks).

  10. Lonna says:

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this topic to be really something that I
    think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and
    very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

