Priorities Meme

This is something I’ve been intending to do for a while. It goes back to a discussion thread here about political quizzes; I’m genuinely interested in looking at people’s political views. A big part of it is priorities, which is what I want to start with at this time. Simply put, what political issues do you consider the most important?

You only have a finite number of total priority points, for lack of a better term. You can divide points among issues however you want; the interesting part is the ratios, not the absolute numbers. For example, here I’m using 100, but if you feel like using a different scale, go ahead. The idea is to list the issues you evaluate politicians, political movements, etc., based on.

If you want, you can put a position next to each issue. And finally, you can give multiple slates of answers if you follow more than one country’s politics. Obviously, EU integration is a higher priority in British and German politics than in American politics, while health care is a lower priority.

In the US, my priorities are,

Abortion – 15
Iran – 15
Eavesdropping and domestic spying – 13
Iraq – 9
Health care – 7
Immigration – 6
Free trade – 5
Farm aid – 5
Gay rights – 4
Budget balancing – 4
Stem cell research – 4
Climate change – 3
Welfare – 3
Education – 2
Alternative energy – 1
Taxes – 1
Affirmative action – 1
Military spending – 1
Minimum wage – 1

All of these track the gamut of acceptable political opinions. All other things being equal, I’d rather see a pro-life President who’s for dismantling the national security state entirely than a pro-choice President who supports a police state. But the gamut on abortion is wider than the gamut on civil liberties in the US, so abortion gets 15 points to civil liberties’ 13 even though only the latter is the subject of serious dystopian fiction.

If you respond to this on your blog, let me know by email, comment, or trackback. I’m not blogwhoring; I’m genuinely interested in archiving people’s political priorities.

10 Responses to Priorities Meme

  1. SLC says:

    Judging by Mr. Levys’ lack of affection for the State of Israel, I would have thought that one of his top priorities would be to lessen Israeli influence over US foreign policy.

  2. muppt says:

    UN concluded that global warming will kill everyone and zionists are evil!

  3. I don’t think of political issues in terms of specific cases. I tend to lump things into more general categories such as “personal liberty” or “economic freedom” and then apply a larger principle to the whole mess of specifics. When I see a specific case that isn’t being handled correctly (however I define that to be) then I would rather see the underlying cause be addressed than the specific issue. A politician holding a different opinion on a particular issue than I do doesn’t bother me as much as his general attitude/philosophy.

  4. SLC says:

    Re muppt

    Nuke Toronto.

  5. […] cartier santos 100 cartier sunglasses cartier tank cartier tank watch cartier trinity b4052700 uk cartier trinity ring cartier uhr cartier uhren Click here to cancel […]

  6. Natasha Mussen says:

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?Birmingham Roofing Contractors, 3506 Inverness Landing, Birmingham, AL 35242 – (205) 301-2113

  7. Esperanza says:

    Terrific article! This is the type of information that should be shared around the internet.

    Disgrace on the search engines for now not positioning this put up upper!
    Come on over and discuss with my site . Thanks =)

  8. where to get a cheap mattress

    Priorities Meme | Abstract Nonsense

  9. I am always searching online for posts that can facilitate me. Thanks!

Leave a comment